Sheila Dixon Leads Democratic Primary Mayor Race for Baltimore City

| June 5, 2020 | 0 Comments

With 79,656 votes counted so far in the Democratic primary for Mayor of Baltimore, Sheila Dixon currently has a 5.8% lead over City Council President Brandon Scott. The Baltimore City Board of Elections is reporting 122,610 Democratic primary ballots have been received, so there are still 42,954 votes to be counted, which equates to 35% of the total ballots.

The Board of Elections is counting ballots today. Ballots had to be mailed in or submitted by Tuesday. There were also six in-person polling locations open on Tuesday.

Dixon currently has 24,278 votes. This leads Council President Scott by 4,593 votes, Mary Miller by 10,998 votes, and Thiru Vignarajah by 14,647 votes.

Dixon was the Mayor of Baltimore from 2007 to 2010 before resigning in 2010 as part of a plea agreement with state prosecutors. She was found guilty of embezzling $600 worth of gift cards that were intended to be distributed to Baltimore residents in need. Dixon finished just behind former Mayor Catherine Pugh in the 2016 Democratic Primary.

Shannon Wright currently leads the Republican primary for Mayor with 932 (28.3%) votes.

State Delegate Nick Mosby currently leads the Democratic primary for City Council President with 29,402 (39.5%) votes. He leads Councilwoman Shannon Sneed by 9,016 votes and former Councilman Carl Stokes by 11,312 votes.

Jovani Patterson is running unopposed in the Republican primary for City Council President. He has 2,917 votes.

Councilman Bill Henry currently leads Comptroller Joan M. Pratt with 37,864 (51.6%) votes to 35,463 (48.4%). There are no Republican candidates.

District 11 Councilman Eric Costello ran unopposed in the Democratic primary and no candidate ran in the Republican primary. Costello will return next year for his seventh year on the City Council.

Phylicia Porter currently leads the race for District 10 Councilperson with 865 (29.5%) votes. She leads Keisha Allen by 389 votes and Ebony Harvin by 541.

Michael Nolet leads in the District 11 Republican Primary with 252 (89%) votes.

Screenshots from the results on the Maryland Board of elections results from 1046am on 6/5/20

The South Baltimore Now Podcast Latest Episodes Produced by Nathan Carper:

About the Author:

Founder and Publisher of, longtime resident of South Baltimore, and a graduate of Towson University. Diehard Ravens and O's fan, father of three, amateur pizza chef, skateboarder, and "bar food" foodie. Email me at and follow me on Twitter at @SoBoKevin.