Brandon Scott Takes Lead in Baltimore City’s Democratic Primary Mayoral Race as Counting Continues

| June 8, 2020 | 0 Comments

With 143,678 votes counted so far in the Democratic primary for Mayor of Baltimore, Baltimore City Council President Brandon Scott has taken a lead over former mayor Sheila Dixon who had been leading before yesterday. The Baltimore City Board of Elections told Fox45 that there are less than 12,000 ballots to be counted.

The primary election took place on Tuesday, June 2nd. While six in-person polling locations were open, the majority of ballots were mailed in due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Council President Brandon Scott has 39,043 votes (28.7%), which is 388 more than Dixon who has 38,655 votes (28.4%). There are not enough ballots left for Mary Miller (21,002 votes, 15.5%) or Thiru Vignarajah (15,559 votes, 11.4%) to win. Dixon had a 4,593-vote lead over Council President Scott on June 5th after 79,656 votes had been counted.

Baltimore Mayor Bernard C. “Jack” Young  has conceded the race. He has 8,650 votes (6.4%). Mayor Young was promoted from City Council President in May 2019 after Mayor Catherine Pugh resigned amid a federal investigation involving her Healthy Holly books. She was indicted in November by a Federal Grand Jury on 11 counts of wire fraud and tax-related charges. Mayor Young was City Council President from 2010 to 2019 and served on the city council from 1996 to 2010.

Brandon Scott was voted by the Baltimore City Council to replace Mayor Young as City Council President in May 2019. Scott represented Baltimore City’s 2nd District on the City Council from 2011 to 2019. Scott is 36 years old.

Dixon was the Mayor of Baltimore from 2007 to 2010 before resigning in 2010 as part of a plea agreement with state prosecutors. She was found guilty of embezzling $600 worth of gift cards that were intended to be distributed to Baltimore residents in need. Dixon finished just behind former Mayor Catherine Pugh in the 2016 Democratic primary.

Shannon Wright currently leads the Republican primary for Mayor with 1,377 (28.8%) votes. Catalina Byrd has 880 votes (18.4%).

State Delegate Nick Mosby will win the Democratic primary for City Council President with 51,493 (40.7%) votes. He leads Councilwoman Shannon Sneed by 15,382 votes. Delegate Mosby served on Baltimore City Council from 2011 to 2016, but ran an unsuccessful campaign for mayor in 2016. Delegate Mosby was appointed to Delegate of District 40 by Governor Larry Hogan in January 2017.

Jovani Patterson is running unopposed in the Republican primary for City Council President. He has 4,198 votes.

Councilman Bill Henry is pulling away from Comptroller Joan M. Pratt with 67,038 (53.9%) votes to 57,282 (48.4%). There are no Republican candidates.

District 11 Councilman Eric Costello ran unopposed in the Democratic primary and no candidate ran in the Republican primary. Councilman Costello has 8,338 votes. Costello will return next year for his seventh year on the City Council.

Phylicia Porter currently leads the race for District 10 Councilperson with 1,541 (31.8%) votes. She leads Keisha Allen by 719 votes. There are nine total candidates in the Democratic primary.

Michael Nolet leads in the District 11 Republican primary with 366 (89.7%) votes.

Screenshots from the results on the Maryland Board of elections results from 1024am on 6/8/20

The South Baltimore Now Podcast Latest Episodes Produced by Nathan Carper:

About the Author:

Founder and Publisher of, longtime resident of South Baltimore, and a graduate of Towson University. Diehard Ravens and O's fan, father of three, amateur pizza chef, skateboarder, and "bar food" foodie. Email me at and follow me on Twitter at @SoBoKevin.
Filed in: Elections