Council President Brandon Scott Wins Baltimore City Mayoral Democratic Primary

| June 10, 2020 | 0 Comments

With less than 2,000 provisional and overseas absentee ballots left to count, Baltimore City Council President Brandon Scott has won the Democratic primary for Mayor of Baltimore. Council President Scott currently has a 2,358-vote lead over Sheila Dixon. The Baltimore City Board of Elections has counted a total of 153,568 ballots so far.

Council President Scott has 42,528 (29.4%) votes and Dixon has 40,0170 (27.7%) votes. Mary Miller came in third place with 22,585 (15.6%) votes and Thiru Vignarajah finished in fourth place with 16,697 (11.5%) votes.

Many other candidates including current Mayor Bernard C. “Jack” Young also ran. Mayor Young, who has 8,985 (6.4%) votes, was promoted from City Council President in May 2019 after Mayor Catherine Pugh resigned amid a federal investigation involving her Healthy Holly books. She was indicted in November by a Federal Grand Jury on 11 counts of wire fraud and tax-related charges. Mayor Young was City Council President from 2010 to 2019 and served on the city council from 1996 to 2010.

Council President Scott was voted by the Baltimore City Council to replace Mayor Young as City Council President in May 2019. He represented Baltimore City’s 2nd District on the City Council from 2011 to 2019. He is 36 years old and would be the youngest mayor in the City’s history if he wins the general election.

Dixon was the Mayor of Baltimore from 2007 to 2010 before resigning in 2010 as part of a plea agreement with state prosecutors. She was found guilty of embezzling $600 worth of gift cards that were intended to be distributed to Baltimore residents in need. Dixon finished just behind former Mayor Catherine Pugh in the 2016 Democratic primary.

Shannon Wright is leading the Republican primary for mayor with 1,571 (29%) votes. Wright has a 542-vote lead over Catalina Byrd who has 1,029 (19%) votes. The last Republican mayor of Baltimore City was Theodore McKeldin who held the office until 1967.

Delegate Nick Mosby, who racked up 54,368 (40.4%) votes, won the Democratic primary for City Council President. He will face Republican Jovani Patterson in the general election on November 3rd. Jovani ran unopposed and got 4,745 votes. Mosby defeated Councilwomen Shannon Sneed who had 39,134 (29.1%) votes, and five other candidates including Councilman Leon Pinkett and former Councilman Carl Stokes.

Councilman Bill Henry defeated Comptroller Joan Pratt with 70,347 (54.1%) votes to 58,444 (45.5%) votes.  Joan Pratt has held the position since 1995. Councilman Henry will be the new comptroller as there are no Republicans in the race. Bill Henry represented District 4 in the City Council since 2007.

District 11 Councilman Eric Costello ran unopposed in the Democratic primary and no candidate ran in the Republican primary. Councilman Costello has 8,703 votes. Costello will return next year for his seventh year on the City Council.

Phylicia Porter currently leads the race for District 10 Councilperson with 1,653 (31.8%) votes. Keisha Allen has 883 (17%) votes. There are nine total candidates in the Democratic primary.

Michael Nolet leads in the District 11 Republican primary with 410 (89.1%) votes.

Council President Scott photo from his campaign website

Screenshots from the results on the Maryland Board of elections results from 1025pm on 6/9/20

The South Baltimore Now Podcast Latest Episodes Produced by Nathan Carper:

About the Author:

Founder and Publisher of, longtime resident of South Baltimore, and a graduate of Towson University. Diehard Ravens and O's fan, father of three, amateur pizza chef, skateboarder, and "bar food" foodie. Email me at and follow me on Twitter at @SoBoKevin.
Filed in: Elections