Mayor Brandon Scott Projected to Win Mayoral Primary, District 11 Council Race Separated by 25 Votes

| May 15, 2024 | 0 Comments

After the 2024 Primary Election, Baltimore City Mayor Brandon Scott holds a 6,307-vote lead over former Mayor Sheila Dixon in the Democratic Primary. Mayor Scott has 33,241 votes (50.96%) to Dixon’s 26,934 votes (41.29%). Media outlets have declared Mayor Scott the winner, but Dixon has not yet conceded. The remainder of mail-in ballots will be counted today.

Shannon Wright holds a 100-vote lead in the Republican Primary. Baltimore has not elected a Republican mayor since 1974.

The District 11 Council race has a razor-thin margin as 2.5-term incumbent Councilman Eric Costello has a 25-vote lead over challenger Zac Blanchard in the Democratic Primary. The vote count stands at 2,565 (50.24%) to 2,540 (49.76%). An “unknown number of  mail-in ballots remain to be counted,” according to reporter Emily Opilo of The Baltimore Sun.

Both Councilman Costello and Blanchard are residents of Federal Hill, and recently appeared on episodes of the podcast.

No Republicans are running for the District 11 Council position.

“So we’re right where our campaign thought we would be the day after the election – in an extremely close race and eagerly awaiting the results of roughly 2,000 mail-in ballots that will hopefully be counted and announced tomorrow,” Blanchard told “I am so grateful for all the voters and volunteers fighting for change who have put us in a great position to win this election.”

Councilman Costello said on social media, “I want to think my supporters and everyone who voted in the 11 District. There are still too many votes to count to declare victory in this race, but I remain confident and grateful.”

Zeke Cohen is the winner of the Democratic Primary for City Council president, unseating City Council President Nick Mosby. Cohen gained 31,607 votes (49.26%) and holds a large lead over City Council President Mosby and former Council Member Shannon Sneed.

Emmanuel Digman ran unopposed in the Republican Primary for City Council President.

Council Member Phylicia Porter won reelection in District 10 and John T. Bullock won reelection in District 9.

Representative Kweisi Mfume won the Democratic Primary for United States House of Representatives District 7 and Scott M. Collier won the Republican Primary.


The South Baltimore Now Podcast Latest Episodes Produced by Nathan Carper:

About the Author:

Founder and Publisher of, longtime resident of South Baltimore, and a graduate of Towson University. Diehard Ravens and O's fan, father of three, amateur pizza chef, skateboarder, and "bar food" foodie. Email me at and follow me on Twitter at @SoBoKevin.